Law Office of Mark Stevens
5 Manor Parkway
Salem, NH 03079
Telephone: (603) 893-0074
Fax: (603) 893-5022
|Admitted in all state and federal courts in New Hampshire and Massachusetts. Representing clients in criminal defense matters, including narcotics charges, drunk driving charges, Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), Operating Under the Influence (OUI), and Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Representation of clients at Department of Motor Vehicles (NH) and Registry of Motor Vehicles (MA) hearings and appeals.|
1-603-893-0074 FREE CONSULTATION
CASE EXAMPLE: January 6, 2012
UNLAWFUL POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL BY A MINOR CHARGE DISMISSED!
CASE EXAMPLE: The police
responded to the scene of a house party at which alcohol was allegedly consumed
by people under the age of 21. When the
police arrived, approximately a dozen people who looked youthful were in a
house with a large supply of beer. All present
were arrested and charged with “unlawful possession of alcohol or intoxication
by a minor”, which is a violation of
Charge Dismissed January 6, 2012
note-this is an example of the disposition of a recent
OUTCOME: This charge was dismissed due to a lack of evidence against this citizen. Of the ten citizens charged with alcohol related offenses in this case, 9 plead guilty, lost their license, and had an alcohol conviction entered onto their state motor vehicle record, even though they weren’t driving. Attorney Stevens’ client was the only person charged but not convicted in this case.
Below is the present
RSA 179:10 (2011)
Possession and Intoxication.
I. Except as provided in RSA 179:23, any person under the age of 21 years who has in his or her possession any liquor or alcoholic beverage, or who is intoxicated by consumption of an alcoholic beverage, shall be guilty of a violation and shall be fined a minimum of $300. Any second and subsequent offense shall be fined at least $600. For purposes of this section, alcohol concentration as defined in RSA 259:3-b of .02 or more shall be prima facie evidence of intoxication. No portion of this mandatory minimum fine shall be waived, continued for sentencing, or suspended by the court. In addition to the penalties provided in this section, the court may, in its discretion, impose further penalties authorized by RSA 263:56-b.
for persons convicted on the basis of intoxication, any person under the age of
21 years convicted of unlawful possession of liquor or beverage shall forfeit
the same, and it shall be disposed of as the court directs. The proceeds, if
any, shall be paid into the treasury of the county in which the proceedings
Attorney Stevens thanks God for this successful defense!!!
“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”
II Timothy 4:7
Call Attorney Mark Stevens today at 1-603-893-0074 for a free consultation to discuss your alcohol charges.
If you leave a voice message or send an email, please include ONLY the following information:
Information in this column should not be construed as legal advice and does not constitute an engagement of the Mark Stevens Law Office, nor any attorney associated with the Mark Stevens Law Office. The information contained herein is of a general nature and may not apply to any particular set of facts and circumstances. Please bear in mind that laws change frequently. We will make an effort to update the information on a regular basis, but are under no obligation to do so. No part of this document, nor any information contained in this website, may be disseminated without this paragraph. This may be considered legal advertising.
Original Web Page Development by Randy Bone.
Copyright 2011, Attorney Mark Stevens, All rights reserved.
All brand or product names are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or organizations.